The Straw that Broke the Camel’s Back…

I have loved PR from the second I got into it, but I have come to the realization that PR does NOT love me. I don’t want to spend 2 years looking for an entry-level job. Here’s an email I got today:

Hi Jess,

The team thought you were a superstar and were their top pick, in deliberations with the head of the NY office we swung back and forth between yourself and an intern who had been with us for over a year.

It took over an hour to deliberate between 5 of us and the intern edged you out only by a hair.  Thanks for interviewing we know that you will do well in this city!

 

Warm regards,

 

XXXXXXX XXX
Director

Really? Was I a “superstar”? Then why didn’t I get the job? When I first started out on this journey, I kept reading these horror stories of people looking for months, even a YEAR to find that entry-level PR job and I smugly thought to myself, “not me, I won’t be that girl. I’m a hard worker, a fast learner, I kick ass!” and yet here I am and you know what? I’m no better than the rest of them; no smarter, no more special, no more anything.

I can’t afford the luxury of waiting until someone gives me a chance, so…I’ve decided to move on to another industry. I’ve enjoyed this blog, but will no longer update. I have truly enjoyed my time.

Signing off for the last time,

XOXOXO, Jess_ AsPRing

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “The Straw that Broke the Camel’s Back…

  1. Hey lady!

    Here to offer you a word of encouragement. I too was/am one of those folks that was in disbelief that it’d take 1 or even 2 years to snag my dream entry-level role. I’ve gotten many emails as the one you described. I’ve hit my point just as you are hitting now. But something that helped me was the realization that I had the opportunity to build my brand for my career ahead (during the time I was working in a different but beneficial entry level role). You are doing an awesome job with this blog. And you are doing JUST that–branding yourself. I would hate to see you leave your PR journey here.

    Keep pushing!
    XOXO,
    Jade
    http://www.TheBloomingJade.com

    • Hey Jade, it took me awhile to get back to you; partially because I was embarrassed by my show of “weakness” because I consider myself a very positive and persistent person. But you were totally right; it’s about never giving up and branding myself and I am happy so say that some great opportunities coming my way! Thanks for the love!

      Jess

      • Jess,

        I’m so happy to hear from you! Vulnerability isn’t a weak characteristic, and I commend you for being real! It’s easy to put up a front. But it takes a mature individual to speak in the midst of growing pains.

        You go girl!

        Jade

Leave a Reply

