Social Network Saturday: Vine.

Happy Saturday peeps! I have been doing a lot of other stuff lately (graduation is fast approaching and opening my own online boutique http://bigheartcouture.com/ shameless plug people, we open March 1st) and although PR and social media are a part of my daily life, they haven’t been a part of my online life: I haven’t been tweeting like normal, my Linkedin feed looks like freakin’ Roanoke (5 points if you know what I’m referring to!) and this blog has virtual tumbleweeds.

So, today I am bringing you a “Social Network Saturday” post because in the last few weeks, a new social network sprang up and it actually looks like it has a bit of staying power (literally jumped to #14 on the “most downloaded app” list in like 2 weeks), it’s called Vine and it’s from the creators of Twitter. Launched the last week of January this year, Vine is a social video sharing service that let’s users shoot, edit and produce looping 6-second videos (only available on Apple platforms, so you know, the cult can send videos to each other j/k…but not really).

So how will this be helpful to PR pros and marketing peeps? Well, in my opinion, it has the same possibilities Instagram has: it can add a more “human” side to a brand (even your personal brand), here are a few examples:

  • Shoot a behind-the-scenes video (works best if you are in the lifestyle division), showing your clients at work
  • Shoot some employee fun; like a birthday at the office or just employees being silly (make sure it’s tasteful and the company logo makes it in there)
  • Shoot a “getting ready” video if you are in fashion (which I am!) show your fave pieces
  • How about shooting a networking event you recently attended? Show people you are out there and looking

There are a million other ideas you can shoot with Vine. To tell you the truth, I have yet to try it, but with DKNYPRGirl and The Bag Snob on board, I am sure this thing is going to hit (and it already has, kind of). I’m not so much about the PR side, but using it for me fashion accessories boutique sounds like a pretty cool idea, so I am going to give it a go and let you all know how I liked it.

Want some more info on the incredible edible Vine (OK, IDK why I just said that lol)? I’ve put some links down here for ya:
Twitter Blog: Vine: A new way to share video
The Vine Effect: How Twitter’s App Is Impacting Social Video Startups
Social Media Today: Why Your Vine Videos Fall Flat
CisionBlog: Vine: An Analysis of Twitter’s New Toy

Leave a Reply

