Senioritis: 5 Tips to Get YOU Through the Home Stretch

Hey all, when was the last time I wrote? IDK, I’ve been super busy with the internship and school and being sick (bleh. I know, right?).

Today isn’t about PR, per say…it’s about something A LOT of us are going through at the moment: Senioritis.

Senioritis, a serious condition

Many of us are nearing the end of our college careers; we are entering our last semesters (or quarters, in my case) and applying for graduation and fighting to show up because: we’re almost done. If you’re anything like me, you weren’t too fond of going to class in the first (a little something I called “freshmanitis”) place, so this “light at the end of the tunnel” business isn’t making it any easier. BUT I know that these last 6 months are very important to me: I need to be making contacts and networking and polishing my resume and kicking butt in school AND in my internship. So I’ve listed 5 tips that I have personally been utilizing to help me get through the stretch:

  1. Write it down: I think I really am becoming a senior (as in AARP card senior, not just graduating) because it is getting harder and harder to simply remember information told to me or that I read. I have taken to carrying around small notebooks with my everywhere and making voice notes on my iPhone. I can’t afford to slip up this late in the game, so I have to write everything down just to keep it straight.
  2. Keep a datebook: I am a little old-fashioned, I love the little leather-bound date books, getting a new one at the beginning of every year is heaven; all blank and full of possibility. Until I look over and realize it’s October and the only thing I’ve written down in the book is my mum’s birthday (on the wrong day, no less). I try to have my life planned out a week to 2 weeks in advance these days, because I have a lot of obligations and keeping appointments in my datebook helps me stay on time and prepared.
  3. Know when to take a break: Hey, it’s okay to let off some steam! Now is NOT the time to freak out and shut down, you are about to be thrust into the “real world” buddy and there AIN’T no summer break (sucks, right?), so you need to start teaching yourself to know when you need to take a step back. You are good to no one if you’re burned out and overwhelmed. Chilax a little; take a walk, write in a journal, play ultimate frisbee (eww.)- just whatever it takes to get you centered.
  4. Don’t get lazy: This is not the time to pat yourself on the back for a job well done, getting your degree and all. This is the “prime time, grind time” (liked that? I knew you would) because sweetheart, you’re gonna need a job and this is the time to start looking for one. Put out feelers, ask your professors who they know, attend networking events for students and have someone look at your resume. Chances are, this is the resume you’ll go out into the world with, start working on it now and it will be ready later.
  5. Remember, college is just a small part of your life: The average lifespan of an adult (in the US, at least) is 77.1 years old and college was only 4 (maybe 5, or 6…no judgment) years of your life; that’s only 5.18% of your life. TOTAL. So keep in mind that you have the rest of your life, so enjoy these last few months and you won’t regret participating a little more, hanging out with friends, just being a kid. Because after this? It gets real. Trust me.

That’s all I’ve got for you today. For my non-college senior readers: sorry! This was probably really boring and I will get back to more “PR” stuff later. For my seniors (Class of 2013!!!) remember: keep your head down and power through, it will all be over really soon. Until next time!

XOXOXO, Jess_AsPRing

Leave a Reply

