My first week in fashion and my final thoughts on Tumblr…

PR Couture’s Crosby Nick’s fantastic book on breaking into Fashion PR

Happy Saturday peeps! I haven’t done a Saturday post in ages, but I promised that I would give you some updates about my foray in fashion, so here I am. Also, I wanted to give you my final “nay” or “say” on Tumblr.

First things first: Fashion PR. I recently moved from a large PR agency in the tech division to a super boutique agency in fashion and accessories and my first week is over and…(drumroll please)…I LOVE IT! There’s a sample room (not like Vogue’s or anything, but still awesome), the girls are fun and I can really tell that with a little push, I can get on some good projects and get some coverage.

Cons: hmm…the biggest con I’ve had so far is that I’m loving fashion so much, I’m starting to sway on my ultimate goal of travel and hospitality PR. I have always had my mind on working in travel in some form (even when I was going to be a barrister, I was going into maritime law because they got to travel!), but fashion people travel and fashion has always been a soft spot for me. Also, boutique agencies mean less amenities, like I don’t get my own MacBook or scheduled training sessions.

Over all, this has been a great experience thusfar and I think I am going to try and intern the last 6 months I’m in the Bay Area and learn as much as possible.

Next item of business, Tumblr. Do you remember this post? I joined Tumblr (at Jessaspring.tumblr.com) and I said in a month or so, I’d report back. Well, we’re at the “or so” part and here’s what I think: Tumblr is fantastic and it’s very good for visual people, such as fashion designers and bloggers, artists, etc. but for little ‘ol PR-lovin’ me? Not so much.

I already have a blog (in case you haven’t noticed) and Tumblr is just another blogging site. I don’t think I’m going to delete the account, because some of fave people have Tumblrs, such as Alexis Rodriguez from the PR Closet and the DKNY PR Girl, but I won’t be updating regularly and I don’t think I want it to represent my overall “brand”. Also, between you and me, there are A LOT of NSFW (Not Suitable for Work) items on Tumblr!

That’s all I’ve got for today, it’s such a gorgeous day, I’m heading outside to enjoy it, ciao bellas!

XOXOXOXO, Jess_AsPRing

2 responses to “My first week in fashion and my final thoughts on Tumblr…

  1. Good luck with your new fashion position!! I bet that is going to be a ton of fun, and a ton of hard work.
    I’ve been debating if I should get a Tumblr – not too many of my friends use it, which doesn’t make me more excited to try it, but I am curious. Do you think you’d have liked it more if you used it strictly for personal use and less as a branding tool?

    • Hi Mary! Thank you, I am very excited to see where this new venture takes me over the next few months. To answer your question: yes, I think Tumblr is a personal thing, for sure. The thing is, PR is a lot of writing (although visual is fast becoming a HUGE thing) and Tumblr is very visual and I already have a blog where I write and it was just taking up too much time for me. Having said that, if you get Tumblr, be warned, you can spend hours on the various niche Tumblr’s people have: I’m serious, any crazy little thing you can think or has a fanbase on Tumblr. If you decide to get one, drop back in and tell me how it went! Have a good one!

Leave a Reply

