I’m a fashion publicist now…kinda; moving from one type of PR to another.

When you hear the words “fashion publicist” what do you think of? Well-helled, perfectly coiffed waifs running around NYFW?

Or how about kick-ass tell-it-like-it-is Kelly Cutrone, who’s mantra “if you have to cry, go outside” has turned her into a household name & author?

“Kell on Earth”

Chances are, you think of both of these, and in some cases, you’re probably right, but my dear followers, get ready for a NEW fashion PR face: MINES. That’s right, I moved out of the tech PR biz and into fashion and accessories at a boutique PR firm (not that I don’t find gizmos and gadgets awesome) and it’s only my first day, so I don’t know what the heck the future holds, but I’ve been doing some prep work in anticipation & I wanted to pass it along to you, in case YOU wanted to jump PR ship to a new kind of PR (because trust me, there are more tons of different kinds of PR you can do):

  1. Consume, consume, consume media: I cannot say this enough, you should be reading multiple publications in your field, daily. Now that I’m into fashion (lol, I mean professionally), I am following ALL the pubs, top fashion blogs and influencers.
  2. Learn who’s who: Start remembering the names of editors, journalists who wrote a story that might pertain to one of your clients, etc. I am about to start pinning articles I find online so that when I see a good story, I can keep it tucked away and then maybe use it to pitch the same journalist later. PR is all about relationships, knowing what’s up and being ready when it is time to strike, as my dad always says, “if you stay ready, you won’t have to get ready.”
  3. Change the content you share: I share a lot of content via this blog and (more so) my Twitter account, and when I was in tech, I shared a lot of…you guessed it, tech news. Now that I am in fashion (lol…it still sounds weird), I want to start sharing and interacting with fashion industry peeps.
  4. Keep using what you’ve got to get what ya’ need: Tech is a beast, I mean it is really hard. I’m not the only person who thinks so, the best advice I have gotten so far in my career is, “oh you’re in tech? Well, if you can do tech, you can do anything” and I kind of feel like it’s true: tech is a tough field and if you’re not “Google”, “Facebook” or “Apple” it can be an uphill battle. BUT, that has prepared me for fashion. I can take a lick and keep on going, I can tailor a pitch and I can find an angle in any story (thanks to my first boss, Crisel). I know fashion isn’t any easier, but it sure as heck can’t be harder than tech, right?
  5. Become like Spongebob Squarepants: I don’t mean live in a pineapple under the sea (because you would die, and my intern salary won’t be able to handle any wrongful death suits), I mean absorb as much as possible! You’re in a new game, honey and you don’t know all of the rules yet. So keep your eyes and ears open, take notes and ask as many questions as possible. New industry, new rules.

That’s all I’ve got for you today, but expect a post really soon about my initial thoughts on working in fashion PR. As always,

XOXOXO, Jess_AsPRing

p.s. I agree with Kelly Cutrone, if you have to cry, go outside ladies…it makes us all look bad!

3 responses to “I’m a fashion publicist now…kinda; moving from one type of PR to another.

  1. Good on you Jess, congrats! ;D

  2. Really love all of this advice!!!!

Leave a Reply

