When is it “cool” to take a risk?…also, I have been a horrible blogger

I know, I know…you’re probably reading this title and rolling your eyes all big and wide and saying, “geez, Jess, we know you’ve been a horrible blogger…now shut up and get to writing about stuff we care about”
OK ok…you don’t have to be so mean about it. Anyway, as you all know it’s that time of the year for peeps to head back to school and Fall internships; whether you already have one, are still searching for one, or are interviewing for one, they should be on your brain. As I am not exempt from the hustle of the PR world, I have attained an internship with my first choice agency and will be starting next week! WOO HOO

Today, I wanted to talk (very briefly) about new opportunities and taking risks, because in this line of business (PR…you remember?) it can be the difference between retiring a junior account executive or an executive director of global communications…whatever that means

I’m all about taking risks, moving to another country on my own when I was 17, quitting my paying job to pursue an unpaid internship so that I could pursue my career, dropping out of college to travel because I was restless (don’t worry, I got back in!), etc. I’m not going to lie some of those risks have paid off better than others, but I think I’ve developed a set of internal questions to ask myself before I take risks…career risks, at least (hey, I’m still a rebel!):

  1. Are you really okay to deal with the consequences if said risk does not pay off? Look, in a perfect world we would be able to see positive feedback from every risk we took, but that’s not this world. You need to make sure you can take whatever the feedback is: good bad or indifferent (which may be the worst of all.
  2. What is the payoff? Wat will you “win” if this risk pays off? For me, it’s a lifelong career in a field I love, doing what I love. So it’s worth it, ask yourself: is this worth all of the trouble? Take advice from my granny (and Boyz II Men, I think) “anything worth having is worth working hard for”
  3. Is anybody else depending on you to succeed? I am a single woman who does NOT pay rent, with a very supportive family…quitting my job to pursue my dream wasn’t that bad financially, I mean, am I eating steak everyday? No, but if you have children or a family or somebody depending on you, maybe taking that risk won’t be feasible. Or they will motivate you to work that much harder…
  4. Have you really thought this through? OK, I get it, take the leap? go after your dreams? Go big or go home! But have you really thought what it means to “go big or go home”? It means you either go all out or you’re out of the game. That’s a scary thought, my friends. Are you ready to get out of the game?
  5. DO YOU LOVE IT? This should be a no-brainer, but I have to ask: are you risking it all on something (or someone) you love? If not, then tell me again, why are you doing this? Seriously, if you are taking big risks on something you are luke warm about, then I can;t second that bro, not at all.

I am not detering you from taking risks, I think they are healthy…especially in our age bracket (anyone under 26ish…we all mature at different ages) and THIS, my young friends and coworkers, is the time to take these risks, but only if you think they will set you up for a better tomorrow.

Well, that’s it for me, look out for another post this week that should help you with that pesky Fall internship/job hunt.

XOXOXO, Jess_AsPRing

Leave a Reply

