DON’T Call Me Maybe: What Carly Rae Jepsen Taught Me About Succeeding in PR

I feel like I am adult enough to admit that I like Cary Rae Jepsen’s Call Me Maybe and there’s a kitty drawing I particularly like based on the song (I swear, check it out here) and I like kittehs…so there.

But when I was listening to it, I realized that the lyrics would just be awful advice for a PR pro (aspiring or not), so I decided to do a little blog with 4 lessons CRJ (inadvertently) taught me about PR:

Lesson #1: “I threw a wish in the well, don’t ask me I’ll never tell” Please don’t base your career future on hopes and dreams: go out and MAKE it happen! No wishing well is going to make your PR career happen. Only YOU can.

Lesson #2: “…it’s hard to look right at you baby…” What?! How can anybody take you seriously if you can’t look them in the eyes: clients, journalists, TV producers, interviewers, etc. they ALL expect you to be able to look them in the eye!

Lesson #3: “You gave me nothing at all, but still you’re in my way…” Okay, so there are 2 lessons here: someone gives you nothing? Then what is their purpose? The same goes for you PR newbie, if you offer NOTHING then who will want to work with you? Nobody. 2nd lesson, nobody should stand in your way. Ever.

Lesson #4: “But here’s my number, so call me maybe” This is the line that made me think twice: “call me maybe?” Oh ye, of little faith: PR is not the career for the timid and an agency CEO isn’t going to want an unsure PR newbie on their team. You know you are awesome, capable, educated and hungry, so let them see that! With direct answers, eye contact, and confidence (not cockiness, those are 2 different things). No “call me maybe” instead, “what day can I expect a call back from you? I’m available at XX times on XX days”

See? Pop music does more than melt your brain…it also teaches you a thing or two about the PR industry (or maybe I am so PR-obsessed I can find it in everything -_-) and how to succeed in the business. Remember, the PR industry is more than a degree and a smile, I got some really GREAT advice from the head of my firm, Mary Shank Rockman (20+ year PR vet), the other day, “It doesn’t take any number of degrees to make it in this business, it takes good judgement and hard work. If you have those, you’ve got a career ahead of you.” and I believe it. So, call me maybe? No, call me for sure.

XOXOXO, Jess_AsPRing

4 responses to “DON’T Call Me Maybe: What Carly Rae Jepsen Taught Me About Succeeding in PR

  1. Very clever of you and Carly to teach us how publicists should NOT act. I think that the timidness of the song (maybe?) applies to anything in life, not just PR. If you want something, go out and get it! No one will do it for you and certainly won’t call you if you sit around waiting for them to.

  2. Through My Eyes

    Awesome advise Jess… confidence is very important. I always say “if you don’t trust and believe in yourself, how can you expect someone else to?”
    Thanks for the great blog 🙂
    From a PR newbie :p

Leave a Reply

