Hello world…That’s the title WordPress gave it anyway

Hi! My name is Jess, I am a 20-something year-old fighting my way up the career ladder. As you can probably tell by the title of this blog, the “ladder” is the PR ladder, and I figure, there has to be more people just like me: young, hungry, hard-working…and broke! LOL But seriously, this blog is where I will chronicle all the joys (and hardships) behind starting a career in PR, from attaining an internship (non-paid or paid), wowing your boss, building a media list for the first time, work-place etiquette, creating and maintaining relationships and getting a job (which is what we all care about anyway), so a little more about me:

Ever since I was a little girl, I wanted to be a publicist to the stars, most girls wanted to be Princess Jasmin or Ariel, I wanted to be Samantha from Sex and the City (and NOT because of her over-active “love” life) , I loved what she did for a living: getting a brand coverage, utilizing her brazen attitude and quick wit to make a living. Since I learned the word “publicist” in the 6th grade, that’s what I’ve wanted to be. Years later, after giving up on my family’s dream of being a lawyer (I hate law offices) I have decided to just go for it. I got a great internship with an award-winning boutique tech and consumer PR firm in San Francisco and I decided to get this blog going. There are going to be great interviews, advice from the pros, jargon you need to know (JYNTK, as I like to call it), internships and entry-level job postings and funny anecdotes from the life of an unpaid intern; I hope you join me on this journey!

XOXO, Jess_AsPRing

p.s. follow me on Twitter for article posts and random PR stuff I learn everyday! @Jess_AsPRing

6 responses to “Hello world…That’s the title WordPress gave it anyway

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. marissadwilson

    Your blog is really inspiring I found it through our connection on Linkedin in the PR Intern group. I decided to finally make my own and use it as a way to help myself identify my personal brand so that I can establish myself in the PR industry. I graduated this spring and I am trying very hard to g et experience in PR so that I can apply to grad school fall of 2013. I’m glad I came across this I hope I can make my blog as cool and informative as yours!

    • WOW, thanks! That really means a lot to me, I am trying my best to generate good content and make it readable and relatable. Good luck on your job/experience search; I am actually going to be doing a blog post on getting a graduate degree in PR pretty soon, watch out for it!

  3. I love this blog Jess! It’s creative, interesting, and very informative. I’m trying to launch a career in the PR industry as well and I look forward to reading more of your posts, especially the one on grad school!

Leave a Reply

